top of page
  • Writer's picturecoterieofbutlers

Cacique Award Winners Announced

Tuesday 01st, February 2011 / 08:40 Published by Frederick Reed

in Headlines

The 14th Cacique Awards were held at the Rainforest Theatre at the Wyndham Nassau Resort on Friday, during which time individuals who have made a contribution to tourism in The Bahamas received much deserved recognition.

Majestic Tours proprietor, William “Bill” Saunders was the Lifetime Achievement Award winner, and the Hotelier of the Year Award went to George Markantonis, President and Managing Director of Kerzner International (Bahamas).

Speaking to the country’s youth while accepting his award, Mr Saunders, said, “You can be whatever you aspire to be, providing you have the dedication and the vision to make it happen.”

Mr Markantonis said everybody in the tourism sector, especially over the last two years, deserves an award for their hard work. He said whatever he and his team at Kerzner International Bahamas have done so far, will be done even better in the coming years.

Recently-departed tourism contributors were also acknowledged for their contributions, among them Sir Clement T Maynard, the former Minister of Tourism for whom the Minister’s Award for Hospitality is now named.

In addition, former Cacique sound engineers Lavard Curtis and Clarence “Nat” Williams were acknowledged. Both were killed in a plane crash in October, 2010.

Winners in all categories were:

Sustainable Tourism – Stuart Cove, Nassau

Handicraft – Dorothy Miller, Long Island

Transportation – SkyBahamas

Sports, Leisure & Events – Justin Sands, Abaco

Human Resources Development – Marilyn Brennen, Lyford Cay Club

Creative Arts – Bahamas National Youth Choir, Nassau

Minister’s Award for Hospitality – Ali Bain, Nassau

Lifetime Achievement – William “Bill” Saunders

People’s Choice Award, Gospel – Shaback, Nassau

People’s Choice Award, Secular – KB and The Sting, Nassau

Supervisor of the Year – Vivienne Haynes, Kerzner International Bahamas

Sales Executive of the Year – Molly McIntosh, Green Turtle Cay Club and Marina

Employee of the Year – Micklyn Lightbourne, Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa and Resort

Chef of the Year – Michael Adderley, Kerzner International Bahamas

Manager of the Year – Kressville P. Ritchie, Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa and Resort

Hotelier of the Year – George Markantonis, Kerzner International Bahamas

Tour Operator of the Year –

Cruise Line of the Year – Royal Caribbean International

Travel Writer of the Year – Thomas Haines, AOPA Magazine

Airline of the Year – JetBlue Airways

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page